Offerman Consulting
spacer Zone

Open government in UK party manifestos, part II

Author: Adrian Offerman

The people from the UK Open Government Civil Society Network have scanned the party manifestos for policies relevant to open government. They recently published their findings. The first part listed items from the big three. In this article, the manifestos of four other parties are discussed: the Party of Wales (Plaid Cymru), the Scottish National Party (SNP), the Green Party, and UKIP.

Party of Wales

  • Citizen-led Constitution:
    Plaid Cymru will push for a written constitution for Wales which will be guided by its citizens, not by politicians.
  • Constitutional reform:
    Elected representatives must be answerable to the people.
  • Local media:
    We will give local newspapers the status of ‘community assets’ so that owners cannot close them without communities having the opportunity to keep their paper.

The full findings can be read here.

Scottish National Party

  • Community Empowerment Bill:
    We will ensure progress of the Community Empowerment Bill, which proposes ways we can improve civil and community engagement and empowerment, including on the use of public assets.
  • Digital connectivity:
    Our aim is to deliver a future-proofed infrastructure that will establish world-class digital connectivity across Scotland by 2020, including tackling the digital divide.

The full findings can be read here.

Green Party

  • Constitutional Convention:
    We support calls for a Constitutional Convention led by citizens.
  • Information and digital rights:
    We support a world of open, freely flowing information. We would consider combining elements of the relevant policies into a comprehensive Digital Bill of Rights.

The full findings can be read here.


  • Political reform and accountability:
    We will introduce: The Citizens' Initiative, The Right of Recall, and an Open Primaries Bill.
  • Government more accountable to parliament:
    Confirmation hearings, requiring Commons Select Committees to vote to approve the appointment of any new minister, senior civil servant or senior diplomat.

The full findings can be read here.